[ASA] 2021 ASA Prizes announcement

Cathryn Trott Cathryn.Trott at curtin.edu.au
Wed Jun 2 16:20:12 AEST 2021

Dear ASA members,

It is with great pleasure that I am able to announce the recipients of the 2021 ASA Prizes. This year the competition for all prizes was extremely high, and I would like to thank the selection panels who worked hard to assess each prize.

I would also like to thank the students, researchers and supervisors who nominated themselves or others for these prizes. They are an excellent example of the quality of astronomy research and outreach in Australia.

The Bok, Heisler, Webster and Green Prize recipients will be offered to present their work at the Annual Scientific Meeting next month.

Please join me in congratulating the winners.


Bok Prize - outstanding research in astronomy or a closely related field, by an Honours student or eligible Masters student at an Australian university.

Madeleine McKenzie - The University of Western Australia

Masters Dissertation: Simulating the Formation of Multiple Stellar Populations in Globular Clusters

Madeleine’s project was based on simulations, which can be a difficult project to complete as not always simulations can render useful results. The fact that the project was at the intersection of observations and theory was considered as one of the factors contributing to the difficulty of the project, and thus making the successful outcome of this project even more impressive.

Honourable mention: Ethan Payne (Monash)

Charlene Heisler Prize - most outstanding PhD thesis in astronomy or a closely related field, accepted by an Australian university

Colm Talbot - Monash University

Doctoral Thesis: Astrophysics of Binary Black Holes at the Dawn of Gravitational-Wave Astronomy

Colm’s research studied the origin of compact objects and their populations using GW signals. The thesis was marked as "Exceptional" and "Excellent" by the referees, and resulted in 4 first-author publications and 7 co-authored publications. Colm contributed to the code BILBY that is used by LIGO as well as outside the LIGO collaboration, and also contributed to teaching/outreach activities.

Louise Webster Prize - outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career

Joseph Callingham (ASTRON; formally University of Sydney)

“Anisotropic winds in a Wolf–Rayet binary identify a potential gamma-ray burst progenitor”, Nature Astronomy, 3, 82 (2019)

Anne Green Prize - significant advance or accomplishment by a mid-career scientist

Keith Bannister - CASS

For pioneering work on Fast Radio Bursts (FRBs), impact in terms of success of ASKAP and successful implementation of the FRB search mode, and for opening a key new area having impact in high energy physics, galaxy evolution, the IGM and cosmology.

David Allen Prize - exceptional achievement in astronomy communication

Geraint Lewis - The University of Sydney

The Robert Ellery Lectureship - outstanding contributions in astronomy or a related field

Tamara Davis - The University Queensland (2021)

Tamara will deliver her Ellery Lectureship at the 2022 ASM.

Matthew Bailes - Swinburne University of Technology (2020)

Matthew will deliver his Ellery Lectureship at the 2021 ASM.

Cathryn Trott

Associate Professor
ARC Future Fellow

President, Astronomical Society of Australia

ARC Centre of Excellence for All Sky Astrophysics in 3D (ASTRO 3D)

International Centre for Radio Astronomy Research
Curtin University
Bentley WA, Australia

cathryn.trott at curtin.edu.au
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20210602/b1870997/attachment.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list