[ASA] 2016 Page Medal - call for nominations

Hill, Tanya thill at museum.vic.gov.au
Thu Oct 22 16:56:05 AEDT 2015

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Berenice and Arthur Page Medal awarded for excellence in amateur astronomy. A call has gone out to all Australian astronomical societies inviting amateur astronomers to nominate for the award.

The prize is awarded every two years by the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) for scientific contributions by an amateur astronomer that have served to advance astronomy.

The winner will be announced during the National Australian Convention of Amateur Astronomers (NACAA), which is to be held in Sydney from 25 to 28 March 2016. During the conference dinner the winner will be presented with the Medal along with one year’s free membership to the ASA.

**** The closing date for nominations is 30 November 2015. ****

Nominations by amateur astronomers are strongly encouraged, including self-nominations. However, please be aware that the award is specifically for scientific contributions that have served to advance astronomy. While it is appreciated that the amateur astronomical community benefits greatly from members’ organisational services, their popularisation of astronomy, and their proficiency in established astronomical techniques, these qualities are not applicable to the award’s criteria.

Nominations should include:

-          a detailed description of the candidate’s achievements, outlining as succinctly as possible the scientific results that the candidate has produced and the impact this has had on astronomy.

-          a covering letter giving the candidate’s full name, address and a brief summary of their association with astronomy and particular research interests.

-          supporting material such as copies of research papers, articles or books written by the candidate that substantiate their nomination.

Nominations should be sent to Dr Tanya Hill, ASA Prizes and Awards Coordinator. Email nominations are preferable and should be sent to thill at museum.vic.gov.au<mailto:thill at museum.vic.gov.au>.

Nominations can also be submitted via:
          Dr Tanya Hill
          ASA Prizes and Awards Coordinator
          Museum Victoria
          GPO Box 666
          Melbourne VIC 3001

Further information regarding the award, including the Conditions and Guidelines, and a list of past winners is available on the ASA website at http://asa.astronomy.org.au/page.html.

Details regarding the NACAA can be found at: http://www.nacaa.org.au/2016


Dr Tanya Hill
Planetarium Manager | Senior Curator, Astronomy
Melbourne Planetarium, Scienceworks

MUSEUM VICTORIA | GPO Box 666, Melbourne 3001
t: 03 9392 4503 (except Mondays) | thill at museum.vic.gov.au<mailto:thill at museum.vic.gov.au>
@nightskymelb | museumvictoria.com.au/planetarium<http://museumvictoria.com.au/planetarium>

This e-mail is solely for the named addressee and may be confidential. You should only read, disclose, transmit, copy, distribute, act in reliance on or commercialise the contents if you are authorised to do so. If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, please notify postmaster at museum.vic.gov.au <mailto:postmaster at museum.vic.gov.au>  by email immediately, or notify the sender and then destroy any copy of this message. Views expressed in this email are those of the individual sender, except where specifically stated to be those of an officer of Museum Victoria. Museum Victoria does not represent, warrant or guarantee that the integrity of this communication has been maintained nor that it is free from errors, virus or interference.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20151022/459f5f91/attachment-0003.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list