[ASA] Vacancies on the Australian Time Allocation Committee (ATAC)

Helen Woods helen.woods at aao.gov.au
Wed Jun 17 12:11:55 AEST 2015

***Vacancies on the Australian Time Allocation Committee (ATAC)***

Suitably experienced members of the Australian astronomical community 
are invited to nominate for a number of vacant positions on the 
Australian Time Allocation Committee (ATAC).  ATAC is the committee that 
allocates time on the AAT.  It also allocates Australian telescope time 
to other overseas telescopes.  It meets in North Ryde twice a year, the 
next meeting being on November 2015. The term of an ATAC member is 
generally for 3 years, but may need to be staggered to ensure smooth 
turnover in membership.

You can find the current membership of ATAC and their terms of office at:

In reviewing nominations for ATAC membership, the AAO Director and 
Advisory Committee will consider the range of specialisations and 
seniorities required for the committee’s effective operation, and will 
not normally have more than one representative from any given 
institution.  They will then submit their recommendations for the 
Secretary of the Department of Industry & Science who, if necessary will 
appoint a Chair from among the Committee members. The Director will then 
appoint a Deputy Chair.

If you wish to be considered for membership of ATAC, please send your 
name and a brief summary (less than 50 words) of your specialisations to 
the Secretary of ATAC, Ms Helen Woods (hmw at aao.gov.au) by COB Friday 10 
July 2015.

Helen Woods
ATAC Secretary

Helen Woods
PA to Director
Australian Astronomical Observatory
PO Box 915 North Ryde, NSW, 1670
Tel:  +61 2 9372-4812
Fax:  + 61 2 9372-4880

More information about the ASA mailing list