[SydPhil] Call for Entries - AAP Media Professionals' Award

Chris Lawless administrativeofficer at aap.org.au
Wed Oct 10 17:21:01 AEDT 2018

*AAP Media Professionals' Award – Call for Entries*

The Australasian Association of Philosophy (AAP) offers an occasional award
of $500 to journalists and other media professionals for excellence in the
presentation of philosophy or philosophical issues in the media in the
previous calendar year. The main criterion for the award of the prize is
the ability of the piece to engage the interest of the general public in
philosophy or some philosophical issue. Consideration is also given to the
quality of the philosophical discussion and to the size of the audience

Previous winners of the AAP Media Professionals' Award are Brigid Hains
(Aeon), Kyla Slaven (Short and Curly radio show), Zan Boag (New Philosopher
Magazine), Scott Stephens and Waleed Aly (The Minefield), Tim Dean (The
Conversation), Antonia Case (New Philosopher), Natasha Mitchell (All in the
Mind) and Alan Saunders (Philosopher's Zone).

The prize will be awarded at the annual Alan Saunders Lecture which takes
place as part of the annual AAP conference in July.

This Prize is sponsored by Taylor and Francis, publisher of the
Australasian Journal of Philosophy and the Australasian Philosophical

*Applications *

The AAP invites entries/nominations for media work from *journalists and
other media professionals* based in Australasia published in *2018*.
Entries/nominations may come from the author or from others. The
AAP Media Professionals' Award is offered no more than once each year, and
may not be made every year.

The closing date for entries is *February 28, 2019 at 6pm AEDT*. Please
note: late entries will not be accepted.

Entries should be *submitted online* through the form available here:

Further information about the AAP Media Prize, including conditions of
entry, can be found on the same page.

The AAP reserves the right not to award the prize in any given year if a
suitable candidate is not nominated.

For general enquiries relating to the AAP Media Professionals' Award,
please contact Chris Lawless: administrativeofficer at aap.org.au
Chris Lawless

Administrative Officer
Australasian Association of Philosophy
ABN 29 152 892 272
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/sydphil/attachments/20181010/2d0f17ad/attachment.html>

More information about the SydPhil mailing list