[ASA] Nobel Laureate Discussion Panel notice

Joanna Ashbourn joanna.ashbourn at stx.ox.ac.uk
Fri Jul 17 19:33:14 AEST 2020


HAPP will be holding its first virtual event online by Zoom with a Nobel Laureate Discussion Panel
on "The Greatest Physics Discoveries of the 20th Century" on Friday 31st July from 5-7 pm BST.

A Nobel Laureate panel will discuss their choices for "The Greatest Physics Discoveries of the
20th Century" and confirmed panellists are:

Professor Steven Weinberg ForMemRS (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1979)

Professor William Phillips (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1997)

Professor Sir Anthony Leggett FRS (Nobel Prize in Physics, 2003)

Professor John Mather (Nobel Prize in Physics, 2006)

Confirmed discussants are:

Professor Dame Jocelyn Bell Burnell FRS FRSE (University of Oxford)

Professor S. James Gates Jr (Brown University)

Professor Chung-Pei Ma (University of California, Berkeley)

The full programme is available at:


and registration for the conference can be made at the following webpage:


More information about the ASA mailing list