[ASA] Vacancies | Australia Telescope User Committee (ATUC) and Time Assignment Committee (TAC)

Bock, Douglas (CASS, Marsfield) Douglas.Bock at csiro.au
Fri Mar 6 15:36:38 AEDT 2020

Members of the Australian astronomical community are invited to nominate for positions on the Australia Telescope User Committee (ATUC) and Time Allocation Committee (TAC) of the Australia Telescope National Facility (ATNF).

Below please find an outline of the vacant positions and a brief summary of each committee. The closing date for nominations is Friday 27 March 2020.

Australia Telescope User Committee (ATUC)

ATUC is a group of ten to fifteen scientists, including two student members, that represents the users of the Australia Telescope National Facility. ATUC meetings are a forum for users to raise any issues regarding the operation of the facility and to suggest changes to its operation. ATUC also discusses and recommends priorities for ATNF future development plans. ATUC meets twice a year, usually in April and October. Members are appointed for a term of three years, with student members being appointed for one year (two meetings). New members will join ATUC beginning at its October 2020 meeting.

More information:  https://protect-au.mimecast.com/s/fC2_CP7yOZtK4NlWwhzG8oE?domain=atnf.csiro.au

ATNF Time Assignment Committee (TAC):

The TAC is the committee that reviews and grades proposals for time on the Parkes radio telescope, Australia Telescope Compact Array and Long Baseline Array and host country time on antennas of the Canberra Deep Space Communication Complex at Tidbinbilla. The TAC meets twice a year, generally in early February and late July. Members are appointed for a term of three years. New members will join the TAC beginning at its February 2021 meeting.

More information: https://protect-au.mimecast.com/s/eACICQnzP0tk6lxOQuPZOrk?domain=atnf.csiro.au

Next steps

Nominees are asked to send their name, affiliation and a <100 word summary of their specialisation to Amanda Gray (Amanda.Gray at csiro.au<mailto:Amanda.Gray at csiro.au>) by Friday 27 March 2020. Please include in the subject line of your email which committee you are interested in.

ATUC and the TAC are sub-committees of the ATNF Steering Committee (ATSC). At its May meeting, the ATSC will review nominations for membership, taking into consideration the range of specialisations and experience required for effective operation of its sub-committees.

For further information, please contact Phil Edwards (Philip.Edwards at csiro.au<mailto:Philip.Edwards at csiro.au>).


Douglas Bock
CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
E douglas.bock at csiro.au<mailto:douglas.bock at csiro.au> T +61 2 9372 4300 M +61 457 552 777
P.O. Box 76 Epping NSW 1710 Australia

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20200306/efd6ada6/attachment.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list