[ASA] Recipients of the 2017 ASA Awards

Virginia Kilborn vkilborn at swin.edu.au
Mon May 15 11:03:33 AEST 2017

The ASA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 ASA Awards. The winners have been invited to presented their research at the ASA Scientific Meeting, 9-14  July, hosted by the Australian National University. https://asa2017.anu.edu.au/

Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy by an Honours or eligible Masters student
Awarded to Madeline Marshall for her thesis “Triggering Active Galactic Nuclei in Galaxy Clusters”. Madeline completed her Honours research at the University of Tasmania, supervised by Stanislav Shabala.

In addition, two Highly Commended awards will be presented to:

-          Daniel Muthukrishna for his thesis “Deep Learning for the Spectral Classification of Transient Astronomical Objects” completed at the University of Queensland, supervised by David Parkinson and Brad Tucker.

-          Chris Whittle for his thesis “Detecting a Gravitational-wave Stochastic Background” completed at Monash University, supervised by Eric Thrane

Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in astronomy
Awarded to Dr Paul Stewart for his thesis “Stellar Science with Cassini” completed at the University of Sydney and supervised by Peter Tuthill.

In addition, two Highly Commended awards will be presented:

-         Louise Howe for her thesis “The Oldest Stars in the Galaxy – Searching for Metal-Poor Stars in the Galactic Bulge” completed at the Australian National University, supervised by Martin Asplund.

-         Emily Petroff for her thesis “The transient radio sky observed with the Parkes radio telescope” completed at Swinburne University, supervised by Willem van Straten, Matthew Bailes and Simon Johnston.

Louise Webster Prize for outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career
Awarded to Dr Keith Bannister from CSIRO for the paper ‘Real-time detection of an extreme scattering event: Constraints on Galactic plasma lenses’ Bannister, et al. (2016) Science, Vol. 351, Issue 6271, pp. 354-356.

Congratulations to all our prize winners and nominees.

The nominations received for the prizes continue to be outstanding and a credit to their institutions. It shows that there is great breadth and strength in Australian astronomy.

Many thanks to all our judges for devoting a considerable amount of their time to reading and reviewing all of the entries, and to Tanya Hill for coordinating the process.

Kind regards,

Virginia Kilborn

President, ASA

Prof. Virginia Kilborn
Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing
Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology
Swinburne University of Technology
Ph (w) +61 (0)3 9214 4380
WWW: http://bit.ly/24vsqSR

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20170515/40f1812b/attachment.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list