[ASA] Call for Nominations for ASA Education & Public Outreach Chapter Steering Committee

Robert.Hollow at csiro.au Robert.Hollow at csiro.au
Wed Mar 2 14:37:45 AEDT 2016

Dear ASA Members

This is a call to members of the education and Public Outreach Chapter (EPOC) of the ASA  for nominations to serve on the EPOC Steering Committee. Membership for positions is for a two-year term in a staggered tenure apart from the Student Representative which is a one-year position. Three two-year positions, the Chair and the Student position are open to nominations.

New members must be eligible to take up their appointments by early April.

Details about EPOC and committee responsibilities and structure may be found at: https://asaepoc.wordpress.com/

The current Steering Committee comprises the following members:

Chair: (completing two-year term)
Robert Hollow (CASS)

ASA Council Representative:
Michael Brown (Monash)

Continuing members: (served one of two years)
Jacinta den Besten (U. Melbourne)
Wiebke Ebeling (CAASTRO)
Brad Tucker (ANU)

Members completing two-year terms:
Julie Banfield (ANU)
Amanda Bauer (AAO)
Glen Mackie (Swinburne)

Student Representative: (completing term)
Shaila Akter (UNSW)

Immediate Past-Chair:
Chris Fluke (Swinburne)

There are three positions open to EPOC Members for two-year SC positions. As the position of Chair is also a two-year position nominations are also open for this position. Current outgoing members are eligible to renominate though some of them have indicated their intention to not do so.

The Student Representative member is a one-year position so any current student member of EPOC may nominate for this position.

If we receive more nominations than positions available online elections will be arranged as needed. Online elections will be held in the second half of March.

Please consider nominating and serving on the EPOC Steering Committee. Self-nominations are fine. If you are nominating another member please ensure you have the nominee’s permission.

To nominate please send an email to asaepoc at gmail.com<mailto:asaepoc at gmail.com> with your name and affiliation together with a one or two paragraph outline of your interest in the position (this may be included on an election form). Please contact me if you require any more information.

If you are an ASA member but not yet an EPOC member you may join EPOC at any time. Please send an email with name, affiliation and status (student, ECR etc) to asaepoc at gmail.com<mailto:asaepoc at gmail.com>.

Nominations are due by 23.39 AEDT Monday 14 March 2015.



Robert Hollow

Chair, Education and Public Outreach Chapter (EPOC)
Astronomical Society of Australia

asaepoc at gmail.com<mailto:asaepoc at gmail.com>
robert.hollow at csiro.au<mailto:robert.hollow at csiro.au>


The information contained in this email may be confidential or privileged. Any unauthorised use or disclosure is prohibited. If you have received this email in error, please delete it immediately and notify the sender by return email. Thank you. To the extent permitted by law, CSIRO does not represent, warrant and/or guarantee that the integrity of this communication has been maintained or that the communication is free of errors, virus, interception or interference.

Please consider the environment before printing this email.
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20160302/7f6bd724/attachment-0003.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list