[ASA] Winners of 2014 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize Announced | Press Releases | IAU

John O'Byrne john.obyrne at sydney.edu.au
Thu Jun 12 16:43:44 AEST 2014

Just to complete the record of ASA members among the winners of the Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize….

I would like to note that Brian Boyle, Warrick Couch and Chris Lidman are all also previous winners as part of the Supernova Cosmology Project, along with Jason Spyromilio as part of the high-Z Supernova Search Team.  Both teams were named along with team leaders Saul Perlmutter and Brian Schmidt as winners in 2007 for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the universe.


Begin forwarded message:

> From: John O'Byrne <john.obyrne at sydney.edu.au>
> Subject: Winners of 2014 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize Announced | Press Releases | IAU
> Date: 11 June 2014 10:54:37 pm AEST
> To: asa at physics.usyd.edu.au
> Many ASA members may have seen this news today via other messages, but if not …
> ASA Member Ken Freeman has been honoured for his significant contributions to Near Field Cosmology.
> The 2014 Gruber Foundation Cosmology Prize has been awarded to Jaan Einasto, Ken Freeman, R. Brent Tully, and Sidney van den Bergh for their individual roles in the development of Near Field Cosmology — laying the foundation in our understanding of the structure and composition of the nearby Universe.  The Cosmology Prize honours a leading cosmologist, astronomer, astrophysicist or scientific philosopher for theoretical, analytical, conceptual or observational discoveries leading to fundamental advances in our understanding of the Universe. 
> For more details see http://www.iau.org/news/pressreleases/detail/iau1403/
> Previous Australian winners are Jeremy Mould and Brian Schmidt.
> The ASA would like to congratulate Ken and also acknowledge his substantial contributions over many years.
> John


Associate Head (Teaching & Learning), School of Physics
Associate Dean (Standards), Faculty of Science 
Secretary, Astronomical Society of Australia Inc. 

Sydney Institute for Astronomy
School of Physics | Faculty of Science

Rm 205, Physics Building A28Rm 222 | alternate: 44-70 Rosehill St Redfern H90 (see map)
Postal address: School of Physics | The University of Sydney | NSW | Australia | 2006
T +61 2 9351 3184  | F +61 2 9351 7726  
E john.obyrne at sydney.edu.au  | W  http://sydney.edu.au/science/people/john.obyrne

This email plus any attachments to it are confidential. Any unauthorised use is strictly prohibited. 
If you receive this email in error, please delete it and any attachments. 
This email uses 100% recycled words and ideas.  Do you really need to print it?

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20140612/991b2f2f/attachment-0003.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list