[ASA] 2014 Berenice and Arthur Page Medal - Nominations Open

Hill, Tanya thill at museum.vic.gov.au
Thu Oct 31 23:39:37 AEDT 2013

Nominations are now open for the 2014 Berenice and Arthur Page Medal awarded for excellence in amateur astronomy.

The prize is awarded every two years by the Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) for scientific contributions by an amateur astronomer that have served to advance astronomy.

The winner of the Medal is announced during the National Australian Convention of Amateur Astronomers (NACAA), which will be held in Melbourne from 18 to 21 April 2014. The winner will be presented with the Medal along with one year's free membership to the ASA.

**** The closing date for nominations is 5 December 2013. ****

Nominations are strongly encouraged, including self-nominations. However, please be aware that the award is specifically for scientific contributions that have served to advance astronomy. While it is appreciated that the amateur astronomical community benefits greatly from members' organisational services, their popularisation of astronomy, and their proficiency in established astronomical techniques, these qualities are not applicable to the award's criteria.

Nominations must include:

 *   a detailed description of the candidate's achievements, outlining as succinctly as possible the scientific results that the candidate has produced and the impact this has had on astronomy.
 *   a covering letter giving the candidate's full name, address and a brief summary of their association with astronomy and particular research interests.
 *   supporting material such as copies of papers, articles or books written by the candidate that substantiate their nomination.

Nominations should be sent to Dr Tanya Hill, ASA Prizes and Awards Coordinator. Email nominations are preferable and should be sent to thill at museum.vic.gov.au<mailto:thill at museum.vic.gov.au>.

Nominations can also be submitted via:
Dr Tanya Hill
          ASA Prizes and Awards Coordinator
          Museum Victoria
          GPO Box 666
          Melbourne VIC 3001

This information, the Conditions and Guidelines for the award, and a list of past winners is available on the ASA website at http://asa.astronomy.org.au/page.html.

Details regarding the NACAA can be found at: http://www.nacaa.org.au/2014/about


Dr Tanya Hill
ASA Prizes and Awards Coordinator
Planetarium Manager | Senior Curator, Astronomy
Melbourne Planetarium, Scienceworks

MUSEUM VICTORIA | GPO Box 666, Melbourne 3001
t: 03 9392 4503 (Wed, Thurs and Fridays) | e: thill at museum.vic.gov.au<mailto:thill at museum.vic.gov.au> | w: museumvictoria.com.au/planetarium<http://museumvictoria.com.au/planetarium>

Museums Board of Victoria ABN 63 640 679 155 is endorsed as a Deductible Gift Recipient.
All gifts of $2 or more are tax deductible.


Melbourne Museum, winner of the Victorian Tourism Awards for Best Major Tourist Attraction in 2010,2011,2012 and Australian winner in 2011.


This e-mail is solely for the named addressee and may be confidential. You should only read, disclose, transmit, copy, distribute, act in reliance on or commercialise the contents if you are authorised to do so. If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, please notify postmaster at museum.vic.gov.au<mailto:npostmaster at museum.vic.gov.au> by email immediately, or notify the sender and then destroy any copy of this message. Views expressed in this email are those of the individual sender, except where specifically stated to be those of an officer of Museum Victoria. Museum Victoria does not represent, warrant or guarantee that the integrity of this communication has been maintained nor that it is free from errors, virus or interference.
Please consider the environment before printing this email.

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20131031/3e4634f3/attachment-0003.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list