[ASA] 2016 ASA Awards

Virginia Kilborn vkilborn at swin.edu.au
Sun May 15 22:25:59 AEST 2016

The ASA is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2016 ASA Awards. The Charlene Heisler Prize winner and Louise Webster Prize winner will be presenting their research at the ASA Scientific Meeting, 3-8 July, hosted by the University of Sydney.http://www.asa2016.org/

Bok Prize for outstanding research in astronomy by an Honours or eligible Masters student
Awarded to Samuel Hinton for his thesis “Extraction of Cosmological Information from WiggleZ”. Sam completed his Honours research at the University of Queensland, supervised by Tamara Davis and Chris Lidman. Sam will be working overseas at the time of the ASA meeting and alternative arrangements are being made for a presentation of Sam’s work.

In addition, Annabelle Austin receives an Honourable Mention for her thesis "Rapid Variability of Active Galaxies: PKS B1144-379 and PMN J1326-5256" completed at the University of Tasmania, supervised by Simon Ellingsen.

Charlene Heisler Prize for the most outstanding PhD thesis in astronomy
Awarded to Dr Vikram Ravi for his thesis “Evincing the histories of the cosmic massive black hole and galaxy populations with gravitational waves” completed at the University of Melbourne and supervised by Stuart Wyithe and George Hobbs (CSIRO).

In addition, Elisa Boera receives an Honourable Mention for her thesis “The thermal state of the intergalactic medium 9–12 billion years ago” completed at Swinburne University and supervised by Michael Murphy.

Louise Webster Prize for outstanding research by a scientist early in their post-doctoral career
Awarded to Dr David Nicholls from the ANU for the paper ‘Resolving the electron temperature discrepancies in HII regions and planetary nebulae: κ-distributed electrons’ Nicholls, et al. (2012) ApJ 752 148.

Congratulations to all our prize winners and nominees.

The nominations received for the prizes were, once again, of a very high standard and a credit to their institutions. It shows that there is great breadth and strength in Australian astronomy.

Many thanks to all our judges for devoting a considerable amount of their time to reading and reviewing all of the entries, and for Tanya Hill for coordinating the process.

Kind regards,

Virginia Kilborn
President, ASA

Virginia Kilborn
Chair, Department of Physics and Astronomy
Centre for Astrophysics & Supercomputing
Faculty of Science, Engineering and Technology
Swinburne University of Technology
Ph (w) +61 (0)3 9214 4380
WWW: http://bit.ly/24vsqSR

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.sydney.edu.au/pipermail/asa/attachments/20160515/1c3a2404/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the ASA mailing list