JWST-UVIT HANDS ON WORKSHOP 20th-31st October 2025, Bangalore, India



Join a two-week COSPAR Capacity Building Workshop at CHRIST (Deemed to be University) in Bangalore featuring hands-on tutorials, data analysis, and expert-led sessions on cutting-edge astrophysics using JWST and AstroSat (UVIT) data. Topics include local star forming regions, high-redshift galaxies, exoplanets, and more. Open to researchers at all levels from Asia and nearby regions. Limited to 40 participants for close mentorship. All local expenses for selected participants will be covered. Apply now to collaborate, learn, and explore the cosmos!

Lecture Team:

SPA 0

> Prof. Annapurni Subramaniam – Director, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore Dr. Carlos Gabriel – Chair, COSPAR Panel on Capacity Building Prof. C S Stalin – Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore Dr. Isabel Rebollido – European Space Astronomy Centre (ESA), Madrid Dr. Javier Álvarez – Centro de Astrobiología (CAB), Madrid Dr. Nimisha Kumari – Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI), USA Dr. Smitha Subramanian – Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore Dr. Sreeja S Kartha – CHRIST (Deemed to be University), Bangalore Dr. Stacey Alberts – Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI), USA

> > Image Credits: NASA, ESA, CSA, Ivo Labbe (Swinburne), Rachel Bezanson (University of Pittsburgh), Alyssa Pagan (STScI)



SOC: Dr. Carlos Gabriel - COSPAR PCB Chair, Germany (Chair), Dr. Sreeja S Kartha - Christ University, Bangalore, India (Co-chair), Dr. Themiya Nanayakkara - Swinburne University of Technology, Australia (Co-chair), Prof. Fatemeh Tabatabae - Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences, Tehran, Iran, Dr. Blesson
Mathew - Christ University, Bangalore, India, Prof. Inci Akkaya Oralhan - Erciyes University, Kayseri, Turkey, Prof. Mariano Méndez - IAU, University of Groningen, Netherlands, A/Prof. Xin Wang - University of Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

LOC: Dr. Sreeja S Kartha - Christ University, Bangalore (Chair), Mr. Akhil Krishna R - Christ University, Bangalore, Dr. Blesson Mathew - Christ University, Bangalore, Dr. Jithesh V - Christ University, Bangalore, Dr. Kenath Arun - Christ University, Bangalore, Prof. Manoj B - Christ University, Bangalore, Dr. Prajwel Joseph - Christ University / Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore, Dr. Shridharan B - TIFR, Mumbai, Mr. Ujjwal Krishnan - Christ University, Bangalore, Dr. Vineeth V - Christ University, Bangalore